Tuesday, October 13, 2009

World of Goo puzzle game for a penny!

This special lasts until October 19th. You can get World of Goo, an interesting puzzle game (based on goo..) for as much as you are willing to pay, from a penny on up. I picked this up on Steam a while ago for $10 and found it a lot of fun, so for a penny you can't lose!

Monday, October 5, 2009

City of Ember





A family action movie about a city used to preserve humanity. Years after the city should have opened, the power generator is having trouble.

Max Payne



Based on the popular video game, Max Payne is an action movie about some crimes and some drugs. Lots of action; weak plot.

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Majesty 2: The Fantasy Kingdom Sim



Majesty 2 is the sequel to the cult classic Majesty. The game revolves around building up your base, while your AI controlled heroes wander the map and respond to objectives you give them. Similar to games like Dungeon Keeper, Dwarf Fortress, or Evil Genius, Majesty 2 nevertheless has it's own unique feel. Available in stores Sept 15th 2009, available online via Steam and similar services Sept 18th 2009.



Features (amazon.com):
  • Play through 4 different campaigns with more than 15 missions, as well as a stand-alone sandbox mode and a variety of multiplayer maps.
  • Build the fantasy city of your dreams and experience an engaging world, but beware: monsters are waiting to lay siege to your domain.
  • Defend your realm with noble Warriors, spell-wielding Wizards or wild Barbarians.
  • Choose from more than 10 different classes to oversee the protection of your lands.
  • Characters will develop in completely different ways, making every hero unique.
  • Gamespy multiplayer for up to 4 players over LAN or Internet, including support for ranking ladders and tournaments.

Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Adventureland



I was psyched when I saw Adventureland (Jesse Eisenberg, Kristen Stewart) at the Redbox machine, I really was. I was able to watch almost three quarters of this movie before I got too bored to continue. Just not very funny.

Chris Rock: Kill the Messenger



Chris Rock's latest comedy compilation comes to your local Redbox machine. This one is an interwoven compilation of three of his tours, taking place in London, New York, and Johannesburg. Funny no matter what color you are.

Push



Push (Chris Evans, Dakota Fannings) follows the son of a powerful telekinetic as he saves the world from a shadowy organization. Lots of action, a couple of laughs, overall pretty amusing.

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Who Watches the Watchmen?



If you take my advice, it won't be you that has to watch the Watchmen. If you read the comic version of this story, you will be disappointed in many ways, if you didn't, you'll probably just find the whole affair stilted and cheesy.

Friday, July 17, 2009

Things from Another World - July Comic Specials

As a Things From Another World affiliate, I post their latest specials here. For July we have two shipping specials:

$5 Off International Shipping on any Order over $30. (ends July 31 2009)

Free Domestic Shipping on Orders Over $25! (ends July 31 2009)

Future specials will be posted in this space.

Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Travels by Michael Crichton



Michael Crichton, known for Jurassic Park, the Andromeda Strain, and many others was a struggling medical student when he wrote his most famous books. After his success, he traveled the world, visiting exotic locations and attempting to define himself. A really interesting book, with a lot of valuable lessons for the modern man. He also became interested in the paranormal, and this book details his experiences and conclusions.

Thursday, June 18, 2009

Scriblink - the online whiteboard

Scriblink is an online white board for remote collaboration. I was impressed by scriblink because it requires no add-on software such as flash, runs quickly on my older PC, and allows you a full range of painting and typing options. Very handy when whipping something up across the internet.

My only complaint is that the "save" function (which is supposed to email you a permanent link to your whiteboard) does not seem to work yet. Scriblink also offers VOIP and phone conference options, which I did not test.

Wednesday, June 10, 2009

Rat Brain Robot

Got this link in my inbox today: Rat Brain Robot

What you are seeing, as the video explains, is a small wheeled robot, controlled by the brain of a rat (which is inside the casing on top of the robot). A little on the creepy side, a little on the amazing side.

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

Defiance: Bar Mitzvah in the woods



Tuvia Belskei (Daniel Craig: Quantum Of Solace, Casino Royale) escapes the SS death squads, only to find a gaggle of women and children in every basement and barn. Unable to leave anyone behind, Tuvia and his brother create a nomadic sanctuary for the survivors while taking up arms against the Germans and their collaborators. Went to get Valkyrie, which was sold out (stop giving that crazy scientologist Tom Cruise money you jerks!), decided to grab this instead and was impressed.

Redbox Reviews comes online

Redbox reviews is where some dudes review some movies from the redbox outside walgreens, the good old amazon, and wherever else we pick 'em up.